The ITC is indebted to its distinguished Patrons for their support and patronage.

The Patrons of the ITC are:

The Rt Hon Lord Andrew Adonis PC

Lord Andrew Adonis is one of Britain’s best known Parliamentarians, having served as Under-Secretary of State in the Department of Education and as Secretary of State for Transport from 2009 to 2010 in the Cabinet of Gordon Brown. Following a D.Phil. at Oxford on the British aristocracy of the late 19th century, he was appointed a Research Fellow at Nuffield College, Oxford, after which he joined the Financial Times, becoming public policy editor. He later headed the No 10 Policy Unit before being elevated to a Peerage in 2005. From 2010 to 2012 he was Director of the Institute for Government and also served as the first Chairman of Britain’s National Infrastructure Commission.

The Rt Hon Lord Patrick McLoughlin CH Kt PC

Lord Patrick McLoughlin is one of the UK’s foremost Parliamentarians, having held Ministerial office under four Prime Ministers (Margaret Thatcher, John Major, David Cameron and Theresa May), most notably as Secretary of State for Transport from 2012 to 2016 and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster from 2016 to 2018. He was the MP for Derbyshire Dales for more than 33 years and was responsible for passing many significant developments in UK transport policy, including major upgrades to the rail and road networks. He was knighted in 2016, awarded the Companion of Honour in 2019, elevated to the Peerage in 2020, and is currently Chairman of Transport for the North.

The Rt Hon Baroness Susan Kramer PC

Baroness Kramer has had a highly distinguished Parliamentary career, serving as Minister of State for Transport under Prime Minister David Cameron (having previously been Liberal Democrat Transport Spokesperson whilst an MP for Richmond Park) and Liberal Democrat Treasury Spokesperson from 2015 to 2019. She was elevated to the Peerage in 2010, and has strong interests in economic policy, reflected in her current membership of the House of Lords Economic Affairs Select Committee.

Sir Philip Rutnam KCB

Sir Philip Rutnam was a Permanent Secretary in Whitehall for most of the decade from 2010-20, serving first briefly at the Department for Business, then for five years from 2012 at the Department for Transport, and then for three years at the Home Office. He had previously worked outside the Civil Service as a member of the board at Ofcom as well as in banking, and he was a senior official at HM Treasury where he worked for 15 years. Philip has been closely involved in many of the most important developments in transport policy over the last 35 years, as well as wider public policies towards growth, investment and the environment. He is a keen cyclist, runner, and traveller, and regularly enjoys using all transport modes.

Sir Patrick Brown KCB

Sir Patrick Brown was the top civil servant in the Department for Transport, serving as Permanent Secretary from 1991 to 1997. Following this, he was instrumental in establishing the ITC as the leading research voice for transport, serving as the Commission’s Chairman from 1999 to 2007. His wealth of business experience includes service as the Chairman of Go-Ahead Group, and as a non-executive director of Camelot Group and Northumbria Water.

Sir Terry Farrell CBE, RIBA, FRSA, FCSD

Sir Terry Farrell is one of the world’s most renowned architects and urban thinkers. He has been responsible for some of the most important transport projects of recent times, including the design of Charing Cross Station, London, Incheong Airport Transportation Centre in Seoul, Beijing South Railway Station, and the Kowloon Station and Masterplan in Hong Kong. He is a champion of better placemaking and the author of numerous leading books on architecture and urban design, including Buckingham Palace Redesigned (2003) and Shaping London (2009). He was knighted in 2001 and is the recipient of numerous international awards.

Simon Linnett

Simon is Executive Vice-Chairman of Rothschild in Global Financial Advisory based in London and served as Chairman of the ITC between 2010 and 2016. He has devoted the largest part of his professional life to working at the public/private interface having worked on the majority of the major UK privatisations and is responsible for the bank’s relationship with the UK Government. He is also a Trustee of the National Railway Museum and Science Museum Group, Chairman of Luton & Dunstable University Hospital Trust, the Treasurer of Queen Mary University of London and a board member of NESTA.